Medina Valley FFA Chapter

Medina Valley FFA Chapter Takes on Dallas at State FFA Convention

During the week of July 11th-15th, Medina Valley FFA members and officers traveled to Dallas to experience the 2016 State FFA Convention. Throughout the week the students dashed to many exhibits, listened to energetic motivational speakers and sponsors, and attended eight general sessions. The sessions were comprised of countless speeches, awards, and scholarships. Included in the award ceremony was the Lone Star Degree which is the highest degree any FFA member can achieve at the state level. Bryce MacDonald and Hannah Persyn, FFA members from Medina Valley, accepted this high achieving degree. Some of the other FFA members and officers present represented their school as voting delegates. Medina Valley FFA voting delegates were Sophy Morales, Raygan Brown, Molly Heinen, Mickie Ruiz, Ryan Tomaselli, Eileen Zinsmeister, Kaleb Friesenhahn, and Carleen Holcomb. This week held memorable and tragic incidents in the city of Dallas that opened the eyes of all who were present with their future roles to play in better developing our state as well as our country. The 2016 State FFA Convention was a memorable experience that will encourage and remind the members that their future is full of endless possibilities. Special thanks to Medina Valley FFA advisors, Mr. Rodger Welch, Mr. Charlie Black, and Mrs. Kyla Williamson in addition to all of those who helped make this trip possible.

ffaImage 1: Medina Valley FFA members purchased bands to be worn in support of the Dallas Police Department and the tragic recent events that occurred in Dallas. The Texas FFA raised over $13,000 to directly support the families of the fallen Dallas Police Officers.

Image 2: Medina Valley FFA President and also Area 7 FFA’s Vice President, Bryce MacDonald, received his Lone Star Degree on stage at the State FFA Convention in Dallas. The Lone Star Degree is the highest degree of membership obtainable at the state level and is something all FFA members should aspire to earn.

Image 3: Medina Valley FFA members in attendace of the State FFA Convention in Dallas July 11th-15th.

Pictured front row left to right: Mickie Ruiz, Sophy Morales, Raygan Brown, Carleen Holcomb, Eileen Zinsmeister, and Molly Heinen. Pictured second row left to right: Bryce MacDonald, Ryan Tomaselli, Wyatt Wilhelms, Caleb Friesenhahn, Anthony Marshall, and Matthew Sapp.

Written by: Eileen Zinsmeister, Medina Valley FFA Reporter